Write, Edit, Read Writer’s Market, and Edit Some More

I bet you didn’t expect to see me back so soon. I intended to take a break from writing, but life had other plans for me.

A couple of days after I posted my last blog, I got offered a new writing opportunity with My Trending Stories. I’m all for building my writing resume and author platform; I had to say yes. I’ll be writing articles about whatever I want whenever I want. I have yet to write my first article, but I’m working on it.

WritersMarketA few days later I got an email from Writer’s Digest letting me know of their awesome sale. The Writer’s Market books were 75% off. It was such a good deal, I got three of them and all for under $30. Not bad, huh?

I had to buy the new edition of Guide To Literary Agents to help with my novel writing and agent search. I have the 2015 edition; I’m thinking about starting a collection.

I had to have Writer’s Market 2016. It’s packed with information on all things writing from articles, freelance, blogging and more. Plus, it has hundreds of listings for magazines and trade journals.

I know what I need to do to get my novels published, but I’m completely clueless how to go about getting song lyrics out in the world. With that said, I got Songwriter’s Market, too. I don’t know if my songwriting is any good, but it can’t hurt to try someday. No, I do not sing. If my cat runs away when I sing, you will too.

I sure have a lot of note taking to do!

As you can see, I like to do different kinds of writing, but my novels always come first.

Between the new writing opportunity and my new books, I feel as if the universe is telling me I should be writing. I feel motivated. I said I needed to take a break from writing to focus on myself, but writing is a part of me. It’s exactly what I need to be doing.

I’m going to start editing Lucky Star within the week. Hopefully, I’ll have it polished by the new year and ready to send off to an editor, then I can begin sending out query letters to agents. Have I mentioned editing is my least favorite part? Well, it is. I know it’s worth it, though.

AbigailWyvonWriterTwitter

I’ve been active on Twitter recently. Among other things, I’ll begin posting updates on the progress I’m making on my novel, so follow along if you’d like and have an account. I usually follow back.

These upcoming months are going to be busy: editing, writing, reading, more editing, and can’t forget it’s almost football season. I’m stoked!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

