Past, Present and Future

“I don’t remember deciding to become a writer. You decide to become a dentist or a postman. For me, writing is like being gay. You finally admit that this is who you are, you come out and hope that no one runs away.” –Mark Haddon.

The Past

I recently stumbled upon an article about published authors and when they knew they wanted to be writers. Twenty authors explained how they developed their love for writing or how they got in the writing business. I started thinking about when I knew I wanted to be a writer; however, I couldn’t think of an exact moment that I thought I wanted to suddenly be a writer. I never had a light bulb go off. I never got up one morning and thought, “hey, I’m going to write a book!”

I’ve been a writer my entire life. I’ve always felt compelled to write. My earliest memory of me as a writer was in kindergarten. We did student of the month and each month we had to write a couple sentences about what we liked about the student and draw them a picture. All of our pieces was then made into a book with a picture of the student on the cover. I was horrible at the drawing part—still am—but the writing part was easy for me, though. Also, fun. There was this boy who couldn’t write basic words like the rest of the class. Our teacher had to write his sentences for him. Because I’ve always liked to help people and the writing was easy for me, I remember offering to help him. I’m not sure how successful I was, though.

It’s as if it’s in my DNA.  I wrote stories all the time and a majority of them are stashed away in my closet. Not too long ago, I looked through some of them. I read one from the 2nd grade about a lost cat. I remember writing it.

I knew I wanted to write, but I wasn’t always certain about what. In elementary school, I started a few novels, but never finished them (they’re in my closet too). My heart just wasn’t in the stories. I had no idea what kind of writer I wanted to be. Then in 6th grade, I read my first Nicholas Sparks book, The Guardian. I bawled like a baby; I had no idea a book could cause someone to feel so much. It was a defining moment in my life. It was then I knew who I wanted to be as a writer; I wanted to tell stories that tugged at the heartstrings the way The Guardian tugged at mine. The Guardian influenced me as a writer and will forever be my favorite book. I’m still waiting for it to make it to the big screen… *cough* *cough* That same year, I had my first heartbreak when I learned I would never get the chance to be an FBI agent, which had been my dream for as long as I can remember. After that, my writing was more important than ever.

A little over a year later, I began writing a new novel. It took many years, but I finished writing Lucky Star on my 20th birthday. I owe it to Nicholas Sparks and The Guardian.

The Present

So far, nothing in my life has gone as expected or as I wanted it to. The only thing that seems to be going right in my life is my writing, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing considering it is my dream job. I mean not only am I on my second novel, but I’m being presented with other writing opportunities like writing articles for a news blog and a creative series on a website.

I’m currently working on a few different projects. 1. Wheeling the Streets. 2. Preparing for a new writing gig. 3. Applying for a writing fellowship. 4. Writing an essay for a disability magazine. Also, I’m taking some online classes, teaching myself sign language and working on a couple of secret projects I can’t mention. You might be wondering about my first novel… It’s slowly being edited. I’m going to finish writing Wheeling the Streets then sit down and really edit both books. Then query agents.

I’ve made some changes to my blog. I want to turn it into more of a writer’s site/blog instead of just a blog. I want to get serious about other kinds of writing, not just my books (my books are my main focus). I want to write more articles and maybe do some freelance. I’ll be adding some things in the upcoming weeks.

I’m looking into a possible graphic design career. I spend hours making different graphics. I recently made temporary covers for my writing projects…

Luckystar

A cover for Lucky Star, my first novel.

wheelingcover

A cover for Wheeling the Streets, my second novel.

If anyone needs any graphics done I’ll do it for free. I could use the experience.

The Future

In the upcoming years, I plan on getting my degree online and major in social work, psychology, graphic design or writing. I plan on paying for college mostly on my own. It’s a good thing I’m good at saving money and getting a degree online is cheaper. By the time I finish, I should have my tiny house or, at least, be in the process of buying/building it. Hopefully, in the upcoming years, I’ll have a literary agent and my first two books published.  By that time, I should be working on my third novel, Wheeling the Halls, the second book in The Wheeling Series. Whether I have an agent or not, I will publish my books.

My ultimate goal: write, travel and help people while saving thousands of dollars each year thanks to my tiny house. It’s the dream!

I try not to make too many plans because life rarely turns out how we plan it to. I’ll forever be a writer. I know my future as a writer will not change. It’s my past, present, and future.

“I literally cannot remember a time when I didn’t want to be a writer.” –J.K. Rowling
5 Comments

  1. RedHeadedBookLover

    I am so happy to have read your post, it was such an amazing read, one which I enjoyed very much! I have had time to check out your blog and I have to say I loved it! So keep writing so I can keep looking forward to reading your work! (:

    • Thank you, I’m glad you liked it! And I look forward to reading your book reviews! 🙂

  2. Loved the first quote. Isn’t that the truth?

    • I love it, too. It definitely rings true for many writers.

  3. Thank you for deciding to follow my blog. Yours in interesting, I have a cousin who is a film cameraman who did a short film about life in a wheelchair in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

