Inspiration Struck

This is for you, Rachael. I’m posting after dinner instead of in the middle of the night.

Anyway…

These past couple months have been rough. I haven’t had much energy to do much reading or writing. My heart and mind just wasn’t in it but was elsewhere. I got tired of it and needed a distraction. I began thinking about my life and how hard it’s been. I realized if it weren’t for my mom and family, I’d be homeless right now. I pictured me in my wheelchair wheeling around as a homeless person and then a story developed in my mind. Next thing I knew I was writing down characters and writing an outline. After a couple hours last night, I was ready to begin writing. It usually takes much longer.

This book will be titled, Wheeling The Streets.

The story is about self-discovery, overcoming obstacles/tragedies and moving on. It is centered around, Ava, a homeless woman in a wheelchair, and the three people who change her life. The four of them are pretty much the only characters, and they are each haunted by their own pasts. This story will show the bad things–the ugly side of life–and the outcomes. There will be tears, smiles, and heartbreak. By the end of the book, the characters and readers will have the surprise of a lifetime.

I’m ecstatic to begin writing this novel!

What about my other handicap story about the high school student? No worries, I’m still going to write this book, too. It will just take longer to get them published, but what’s the rush, right?

Along with writing these stories, I’m still editing my first book, Lucky Star. I began searching literary agents. The Guide to Literary Agents book has been a big help! I’m working on a short story based on a true story and I hope to publish it in a literary magazine in the future. I’m working on some new lyrics, poems, and another writing project that I can’t talk about.

As you can see I have a lot of writing to do… I better get to it!

“Challenges are what make life interesting and overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.” – Joshua J. Marine.

1 Comment

  1. Rachael

    Hey Abi!! I was able to read this one, even though it is 11 o’clock. I have an idea. This new story sounds wonderful, I’m ecstatic to read it (as well as Lucky Star). My thought is that Ava should have a dog. I always fall in love with this homeless people who have dogs, I imagine they do everything they can for the day, and although it is not much the dog still does absolutely everything for their person. I know Ava is going to have way more struggles, but a good dog can be the reason for her to go day to day through the streets. *In my opinion the best books end in heartbreak because a dog dies… Just a thought
    *I am well aware of my disturbing opinion that a dog has to die for a book to be one of my favorites, but I just love this books!
    Anyways, happy writing and the best of luck. I’m so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

