One Week!!!

The deadline I have for my book is in exactly one week—Friday, May 16th. I’m currently at about 65,000 words and I have about three more chapters to write! 🙂

I almost thought I wasn’t going to meet my deadline because I have been sick all week, and I have a hard time writing when I’m sick, but it’s looking good so far. I feel a lot better than I did a few days ago, but I still have a sore throat and partly runny nose. I worked on the book for four hours today and I think it’s the best writing I’ve done in a while, except for a few minor distractions from dogs and parents.

 

I still can’t believe my book is almost done.

I have been working on it for more than four years… Granted, the book probably would have been finished sooner if I used the computer from the start. I would write a chapter down in a journal and then type it up on the computer before writing down the next chapter. Sure, that method works for some writers, but not for me. I would get stressed because I’d be thinking about everything I wanted to write down and get anxious to get it all on paper. By the time I’d finally have another chapter written in the journal, I would be so worn out that I’d wait a few days before I typed it up. Plus, I’m slow at typing.

Then one day this last October the journal I used to write my story in just disappeared, literally. I keep it in the same spot and I’ve always kept it safe. I searched everywhere, but couldn’t find it. I believe everything happens for a reason and so when my journal disappeared I took it as a sign. A sign that 1. I’m supposed to give up this writing stuff or 2. I’m supposed to write my story without the journal.

I thought maybe it was God’s way of telling me to stop writing altogether, so for a few days, I stopped. I soon realized that not only did I want to write, but I had to. It’s a part of me. I couldn’t just let it go, it wasn’t that easy. During those few days I stopped writing, the characters in my book haunted me, telling me to finish their story. They wouldn’t leave me alone. I know I probably sound crazy, but I’m sure other writers will know what I mean. So anyway, I started working on my book again. This time, instead of writing down the chapters first, I typed it all up on the computer. For me, it’s way less stressful than writing it down first. I wish I had done that from the beginning…

Also, during these last four years, there were times I thought I’d never finish writing a book. There are so many writers out there who want to publish books, but they just don’t have it in them to finish writing one. For a while, I thought I was one of them. I mean I have been working on this book for over four years! I’m the type of person who always starts new projects, but never finishes them. Whether it be a journal idea, an idea for my room or an idea to make something for my pet to crawl in, I always got bored and quit.

Finishing this book is proof to me that I have it in me to be an author. This time, next Friday, having finished Lucky Star will be one of my greatest accomplishments besides walking and graduating high school. I’m still going to try to get an agent and/or send to publishers, but even if I don’t land an agent or publisher with this book, I will be very happy to know I finished a book. I promised my best friend, Cappie, I’d finish this book this year and dedicate it to her when it gets published. So, in case I don’t get an agent or publisher, I will save this book and self-publish it when I have money.

If you want something bad enough, you’ll go and get it!

Right now, I’m starting the outline for my next book that I now know I can finish (and probably a lot sooner than four years).

One week!!!

This is for you Cappie!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

