Random Thoughts

“Show, don’t tell”- Every writer has heard those words. Maybe even learned about it in a class. It’s essential for Fiction writers to show their readers rather than tell, but it’s not always easy to show them what you’re talking about. Most writers would agree, it is a lot easier to tell than to show. However, if you want a successful story, you must use “Show, don’t tell.” I work on my book a few hours every day and each time, in the back of my head I’ll be thinking, “Show, don’t tell. Abby, show, don’t tell.” I’d become obsessed with showing and not telling to the point where I’d have problems writing. I’d get stressed and not be able to focus because I’m too worried about showing. Each time, I would have to stop what I was doing and remind myself, “worry about fixing things later. I just need to get the story down first. Then I can go through and fix all the errors and details.” Today, today was a struggle. “Show, don’t tell,” kept creeping its way back in my head. Hopefully, tomorrow will be a better day.

I’m proud to say my book, Lucky Star, will be done by early April. Then I’ll spend a couple weeks editing it, cutting out pointless parts and of course, fix any part where I need to show and not tell. Finally, I’ll start on the query letters and send them off. I already have a list of possible agents. First on my list, Theresa Park. Although, I think I’m going to wait a few query letters before I send one to her.

I’m starting to keep a small journal of words I like. I’ll write the word down, it’s meaning and whether it is a noun, verb, adjective etc. They’re all words I would like to use in my story or future stories. I’ve been a little overly excited about it… What can I say? I’m a nerd. In the back of the journal, I have important literary definitions and future character names for future stories. On the top of this list is Hailey, Joey, Chloe, and Sharon. I like those names. So, if you happen to see me with a diminutive journal, you’ll know what it is.

I’m noticing a trend on social media… Everyone keeps saying, “I could care less.” That phrase is not correct, though. They should be saying, “I couldn’t care less.” Unless of course, they do care and they really could care less. And “Alot” is “A lot” People keep getting their “Then” and “Than” mixed up. Also, “You’re,” “Your,” “Their,” “There,” and “They’re.” It takes everything I have not to correct adults on some of this stuff.

I hope y’all have a good week!

Leave a Reply

